On July 3rd 1848, Kegworth Town Cricket Club played their first recorded match at Leicester Town. The Club is situated at King George V Playing Field, Nottingham Road, Kegworth - Leicestershire. Before moving on the current placed, Kegworth Town Cricket Club played at Sideley and then they moved to a field on Long Lane. Kegworth featured in the ultimate low scoring match against Diseworth who scored the only run of the game, and that was an extra! In another early game Kegworth dismissed Sandiacre for 4 runs, but in reply they could only equal that score, at the early stages Kegworth Town Cricket Club played on low scoring wickets, so low scoring games were commonplace.

Club's Key Members:

Jim, Sid and Ernest Akers were the three brothers, who played for Kegworth Town Cricket Club during first quarter of the 20th Century.  An opening stand of 131 by Jim and Ernest is recorded. Other early stars included Robert Sutton who played for over 50 years and was Secretary for 40 years until his death in 1948, Albert Cook a bowler who took all ten wickets for 9 runs in 1903. Players who played vital role in Kegworth Cricket Club such as M.G. Beale, C. H. Dobbin and E. Bostock were early stars for Kegworth Town Cricket Club. Other prominent members included Dr. J.J. Jeffares and Dr D.J. Bedford who both had a 70 year association with the club.

In 1950 John Wall equaled Cook's feat by taking all 10 wickets against Long Whatton. Bill White began his playing career in 1937 aged 13 and became a feared big hitting batsman once scoring a century in 13 overs. George Green played a prominent part in the club's history. He was Captain and Secretary and held the club together during difficult times. Pete Bradfield and Terry Boyes joined Kegworth in 60’s. In 1975 the pavilion was altered to its present when the extension was opened by England Captain Ray Illingworth. The occasion was marked by a match against Leicestershire who included David Gower in their team. Modern day players included Mick Salton who played for Leicestershire 2nds, Mark Briers who went on to play County cricket for Worcestershire and Durham; and Usman Afaal who enjoyed a season at the club before going on to open the batting for Nottinghamshire.  Present stalwarts include Dick Fowkes, still playing in his late 50's, who has served the club as player, Captain, Secretary and Grounds man over a period of 45 years and David Buxton who enters the new century in his 34th year as Treasurer of the club. Since 1848, apart from one league season, Kegworth played friendlies right up to 1962 when the 2nd team joined the North West Leicestershire League, shortly to be followed by the 1st team.


In 1975 Kegworth Town Cricket Club's 1st XI won the Second Division Championship and the Brian Clarke Cup. The Club were first Division runners-up in 1976 and won the Loughborough Charity Cup in 1977 and 1978. The Rural Tankard Cup was also won in 1978 and the mid-week side regularly carried off the Castle Donington Evening League Cup. In 1982 the club moved to the higher standard of the Leicester Club League. The Aronsohn Cup was won in 1981 and the Loughborough Charity Cup was claimed for the third time in 1984. The 2nd Team secured the Third Division Championship in 1986 and they have been runners-up in various divisions in 1982,1983,1989,1992 and 1996. The 1st XI have been runners up in Division 1 in 1984 and were again runners up in the Division 2 in 1996. The Club has also been winning indoor competitions in the winter months appearing in eight finals.

Leagues and Teams:

Currently the 1st Team play in Division 2 of the Everards Leicestershire County League while the 2nd XI Play in Division 6. The Club also fields a mid-week evening side, a Sunday Team which fulfills friendly fixtures and a winter indoor side. Kegworth Town Cricket Club also have Junior Teams. Kegworth Town Cricket Club have 3 Seniors Teams, One Sunday XI. Along with this they have 6 Junior Teams (Under 19's, Under 15's, Under 13's, Under 11's Hardball, Under 11's Incrediball and Under 10's Kwik) teams.

Management Committee:

Mr. Chris Johnson is the President, Mr. Carl Sutton - Chairman, Mr. Ian Dade - Vice Chairman and Mr. Carl Sutton is the Secretary of Kegworth Town Cricket Club.

Kegworth Town Cricket Club are members of the Everards Leicestershire & Rutland Cricket League and Leicestershire Youth Cricket League. Also an ECB Clubmark Accredited Focus Club.

Official Website: http://kegworthtowncc.hitscricket.com/default.aspx

Pin It