Ragama cricket club is one of the leading cricket club not only from Gampaha district but also in the entire Sri Lanka. The club was formed in 1989 by three Cricketers from Sri Lanka Mr. Roshan Abeysinghe, Mr. Roshan Iddamalgoda and Mr. Uditha Wijesundara. The club is running under the presidency of Mr.Roshan Abeysinghe. Ragam cricket club is handling currently 2 teams Under-23 and Division 1 team.

The club made its debut in the major cricketing arena by playing the Division three tournament organized by the then BCCSL and was captain by none other than the man behind the success of the club Roshan Abeysinghe. The team included Roshan Iddamalgoda, Uditha Wijesundara Amal Silva, Ramesh Jayasekera, Asela Jayasinghe, Dilshard Karim, Dilan Nishantha, Ramesh Jayasekera, Melvin Croning, Khrishan Thilekeratne and Samantha Perera.

After Tremendous focus and on his playing capability the club is qualified for Premier League in year 2000/01. The club is playing Under-23, Division 1 and Premier league T20, AIA T20 Tournament kind of the major tournaments. The club has a record of scoring 465 runs in 50 over match in the year of 1995.

The Club has been very fortunate to have had the support of Edward Silva member of the Western Provincial Council, who had donated a Land to Ragama Cricket Club to build its own home as well as Mr. Doglous Fernando another Provincial Council Member who donated cricket gear to the club at the inception. The Club house was completed in year 2002 with modern gym and restaurant unique to Gampha District as it was the first of its kind.

The secret behind the rapid success of the club is well organized management with lots of experienced personalities led from the front by Roshan Abeysinghe and supported by a very hard working committee

Thank you for reading the article stay tuned for more article about clubs from various countries in Asia.

Website: http://www.ragamacricketclub.com/

Pin It