User Rating: 5 / 5

Star ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar Active

From our childhood we have started playing cricket which has no specific format. In the world, people don’t need a reason to play cricket. It’s such a wonderful game that over 104 countries play it officially. In younger ages we used to play 4-4 overs matches, 6-6 overs matches or even it could be a 5 overs match. Then gradually when we grow up and come to know about the various format of cricket such as, Test Cricket, One-Day Cricket and now T-20 Cricket we start adapting official formats of cricket and enter towards the professionalism of the game.

My childhood interest has been knowing about the cricket in various countries and which formats do all the other countries play. I think most of the people are also interested and enthusiastic to know how many formats actually exist in cricket and which are played in the respective countries. 

The game of cricket has a known history beginning in the year 1598, that time Cricket is called as “Creckett”. Having originated in England country.  First International Cricket Match was played between United States vs Canada in the year 1844. Test Cricket began to expand in 1888-1889.

Major formats of International Cricket:


Test Cricket - What is a Test Match?  The 2 teams of 11 players play a 4 inning cricket match, which may last up to 5 days. Test cricket is examination of team’s focus, determination, ability, endurance, etc. The first officially recognised Test match was played in 1877 between England and Australia Country at Melbourne Cricket Ground. Currently 10 countries are Test playing countries according to International Cricket Council.

1992-cricket-world-cup-teams-and-squadsOne-Day Cricket - What is One-Day Cricket? The 2 teams of 11 players play a 2 inning game in one day. The first officially recognised One-Day Cricket match on 1871 between England and Australia Country at Melbourne Cricket Ground, that time it was 40 overs each side and an 8-ball over. Now World Cup is played in One-Day format (50-50 Overs). Currently round about 104 teams play One-Day Cricket matches.

T20-Cricket-FormatT-20 Cricket - T-20 cricket is short format of cricket, 2 teams play a single inning each, which is restricted to only 20 overs.  It’s was originally introduced by the England and Wales Cricket Board in 2003.  T-20 Cricket is famous in all the cricket playing countries. Mostly many countries plays T-20 Leagues/Tournaments/Matches.

Six-A-Side-Cricket-FormatSix-A-Side Cricket - Six-A-Side is very short format in cricket. It’s was originally introduced by Karp Group Hong-Kong Cricket in 1992. Six-A-Side Cricket format is played only in tournaments and the Tournament format is Double-Round-Robin and Knock-out. Most successful title win by England and Pakistan team (5 Titles Each).

Here is a list of few more formats in Cricket that are played in various countries according to their favourable conditions:

  • 60-60 overs format
  • 45-45 overs format
  • 40-40 overs format
  • 30-30 overs format
  • 10-10 overs format
  • 8-A-Side format
  • 6 to 25 overs format
  • 4 to 12 overs format
  • No overs format

Thank you for reading this article. We will have an updated article mentioning the details of each format listed above. Stay tuned for the update.

Meanwhile leave your comments and suggestions below. If you know about a particular format that we have not listed you can mail us at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or comment about it below. We will be glad to hear from our viewers. Browse through the website for interesting articles about Cricket, Countries, Players, Cricket Clubs, IPL and much more.

Pin It