User Rating: 5 / 5

Star ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar Active

It’s hard to believe the fact that Cricket, as a game, has evolved so much that now it has near about 19 children of its own. India, where Cricket is not just played, but also worshipped has given this game a wonderful platform to establish and expand its territory in other countries as well. This is the reason why, there are approximately 18 other types of Cricket that world has witnessed till now. Well, that’s not over yet. The numbers are still growing. And the day is near where we could get to see some more of Cricket around us. Let’s have a look at each of them and understand their uniqueness.

1. Short form of Cricket: Short forms of Cricket evolved in the late 1990’s. A typical short form Cricket match can be completed within two to three hours, compared to 7–8 hours for a one-day Cricket match, or five days for a Test match.

2. List A Cricket: List A Cricket is similar to One day Crickets. Most Cricketing nations have some form of domestic List A competition. The over limits range from forty to sixty. The categorization of "List A" was only endorsed by the ICC in 2006.

3. Club Cricket: Club Cricket is played extensively in Cricketing nations, and also by immigrants from Cricketing nations. Club Cricket most often takes place on a natural grass wicket, often maintained by the players themselves.

4. Declaration Cricket: It is a single innings game with a set time limit for the entire game to be completed in. To win the game, a side must both score the highest aggregate amount of runs and take all ten of the opposition wickets. It is up to the side batting first to declare when they feel they have enough runs to be able to win the match. In this format of Cricket, if the side batting second does not lose all ten of their wickets, the match is said to have ended in a draw.

5. Indoor Cricket: Indoor Cricket is a format of the game designed to be played in an indoor sports hall at times of the year when outdoor play is not possible.

6. Double wicket Cricket: It is a form of Cricket with two teams of two players each which are pitched against each other for a limited number of over’s. A player getting out in this form of Cricket does not retire but continues to bat but gets penalized a stipulated number of runs for each time he gets out.

7. Kwik Cricket: It is a high-speed version of the game, aimed mainly at encouraging youngsters to take part.

8. Informal amateur Cricket: Beach Cricket, Street Cricket are all different names used to describe a wide range of related informal games. The rules are often ad hoc, and the laws of Cricket, such as those involving leg before wicket, penalty runs, and others, are ignored or modified to suit both the setting and participants' preferences.

9. Garden Cricket: Informal Cricket in the UK is often known as garden Cricket and is played in gardens and recreation grounds around the country. Because of limited space in gardens and the potential damage to property, one particular version of garden Cricket is unique in that there are no concept of runs as attacking shots are expressly forbidden, and instead the winning batsman is the one who can survive the longest number of deliveries. 

10. French Cricket: It is a game in which the ball is bowled at the legs of the batsman, with the batsman's legs forming the wicket. It is often played by children. A tennis ball is often used rather than the harder Cricket ball. Much like beach Cricket, the rules may vary wildly.

11. Tennis ball Cricket: This type of Cricket is popular in the South Asian sub-continent, USA and Canada. In this game a harder version of tennis ball is used. The number of over’s in the game varies from 6 to 25 over’s. Considering that the ball is not as hard as the professional Cricket ball, the use of protective gear like gloves, pads and helmets is optional. 

12. Tape ball Cricket: This type of Cricket is popular in Pakistan, Bangladesh and somewhat gaining popularity in other South Asian countries.  In this game a tennis ball is covered with insulating tape. This results in a heavier ball. Fast bowlers can generate extra swing in both directions while finger spinners can produce turn. The game is usually a limited over match with 4–12 overs. In Karachi and Lahore regular tournaments are held. Night matches are common, especially during the month of Ramadan.

13. Non stop Cricket: Continuous Cricket is a game involving one batsman, who upon hitting the ball, must run to a marker, which is square of the wicket. The bowler may bowl as soon as the ball is returned, regardless of whether or not the batsman is still running. The game can be played in teams, or as a group, where players rotate between fielding positions, batting and bowling

14. Over 60's Cricket: Founded in Australia, it is for those over 60 years of age.

15. Vigoro: It is a form of Cricket that also resembles baseball, mainly played by women.

16. Table Cricket: Table Cricket is an indoor version of the game designed primarily for physically challenged Cricketers.

17. Armchair Cricket: A card game based on Cricket.

18. Book Cricket: It is popular with school children in India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka. It has several variants and is mostly played by 2 players. The runs are scored by flipping the book open at random and the last digit of the right-side (even-numbered) page is counted as the number of runs scored. 0 (and sometimes 8) are assigned to special rules, typically a wicket is lost when a person scores 0 and scoring 8 would be substituted for a No ball run and an additional chance. To give an example, if the batting side opened the book at page 26, then 6 runs would be scored. For the toss, what is generally done is that both the players open a page and the one whose last digit is greater wins.

19. First Class Matches: A first class match is the one that is played for at least three days. It is somewhat similar to test matches. A two-innings match of at least three days duration is granted first-class status only if both teams have first-class status. Among Cricket statisticians, first class Cricket is variously deemed to have started in 1660, 1772, 1801, 1815 or 1864

How many types of Cricket have you played till date??

Pin It