Norwich Cricket Club was officially formed on January 21st 1999. When two of the strongest local cricket Clubs in Norfolk, Ingham & District Cricket Club and Norwich Barleycorns Cricket Club, chose to merge their resources. Norwich Cricket Club was located at 2 places: Postwick Clubhouse: 1 Ferry Lane, Postwick, Norwich,Norfolk NR13 5HL; and Ingham Clubhouse: The Old Hall Ground, Ingham, Nr. Stalham, Norfolk NR12 0TG. Jack Borrett joined the Club in 1928 (having been rejected a year earlier) and became captain in 1937. At that time East Norfolk League was played in that specific area.

Club Development:

Ingham CC was founded in 1895. In 1950 Jack and George Edrich purchased the ground for £600 from the hall owners. The Ingham & District tag seemed suitable since Sunday matches always included a number of County players from Norwich or further afield. In 1958 after using the present roller shed and another hut as changing rooms, the present Pavilion was purchased from Wymondham College for £20 and the modern era of Ingham commenced. The 1960's and 1970's saw numerous benefit matches played with some of the World’s best cricketers appearing on the ground – Peter May, Garfield Sobers, Everton Weekes, Jim Laker, and Basil D’Oliviera to name but a few. The 1970’s and 1980’s saw an Ingham domination of Norfolk Alliance cricket. The team, once consisting of eight County players, won the Alliance six times between 1975 and 1983 and then again in 1990 and 1994. Jack Borrett led the way and his family contributed so much to the game that it was hard to visualize Ingham without a Borrett. Others who contributed so much to this century of cricket were Tracey Moore who played for 40 years, Andrew Seeley, the Burton family, on and off the field, and last but not least Cyril and Ann Adams.

Club Mergers:

The name 'Norwich Barleycorns Cricket Club' was established in 1985 following a merge of three well-known Norwich Clubs, 'St Barnabas', 'Barleycorns' and 'Norwich Cavaliers'. 'St Barnabas' was founded way back in 1924. Barleycorns had been founded in 1946 by Brian Barley as a Sunday Club and quickly established themselves as one of the most powerful teams in East Anglia with many county players in their ranks. In 1964, David Bush formed the ‘Norwich Cavaliers’ as a Club dedicated to playing positive swashbuckling cricket, hence the name Cavaliers. Again, this was a Sunday only side intent on providing entertaining cricket in a relaxed atmosphere. Barleycorns and Cavaliers both drew players from Norwich CEYMS, one of the strongest of the Alliance Clubs. All three Clubs lacked a ground with long term security, and it was this common denominator that led to an approach to ‘St Barnabas’, culminating in the three Clubs pooling resources at Postwick, under the name of Norwich Barleycorns CC. In the fourteen years since the Club was first formed, the success was remarkable. The Alliance title was secured on three occasions. In 1999 English Cricket Boards' (ECB) initiative in creating the East Anglian Premier League. Both the Norfolk Cricket Board and the Norwich Union Norfolk Cricket Alliance welcomed this exciting step forward as facilitating an increase in the standard of cricket played at local level.



On December 1st 1998 Ingham and Barleycorns representatives had Extraordinary General Meeting and management approval for the merger. Eighteen months after the merger in the 2000 season, Paul Newman captain of the 1st XI, held aloft the East Anglian Premier League Trophy, the Bob Carter Challenge Cup and the Bennett’s Floodlit Challenge Trophy. The Ladies were also crowned champions of the inaugural Norfolk and Suffolk Marsh Ladies League to add more silverware to the cabinet. During the 2001 season Norwich Cricket Club retained the East Anglian Premier League Trophy and added the Stan Biss Trophy to its silverware in addition to winning the floodlit competition and the ladies league once more. The 2002 season proved successful again with the Stan Biss Trophy being retained and the Ladies completing a hat-trick of league titles. In 2009, the 1st XI came second in the EAPL - a really tremendous achievement.

Current Team and Participations:

Currently Norwich Cricket Club have 3 senior teams. First XI plays on Saturday. Second XI plays in the Norfolk Alliance Division 1 and Third XI plays Division 5 of the Alliance. Norwich Cricket Club also have women's coaching sessions and a women's team and they play several games throughout the season. Norwich Cricket Club is in Top Division of Mid Norfolk Sunday League. Along with this, the club entered National Cockspur Cup Twenty20 (A series of regional games), Norfolk Twenty20 (Hosted by Horsford CC, £1000 prize money) and Bernard Mathews Cup (old school evening competition). They also have Junior Cricket Training Programmed for U9 to U11 and U13 to U15. Norwich Cricket Club also have Mini's Cricket for under 6.

Official Website: http://www.norwichcricketclub.co.uk/

Pin It